By it, I mean the changes and frustrations of the new healthcare bill. My employer actually is its own insurer, and recently wanted to create a new preventive wellness program for us employees. Basically, we were going to get $400 a year to use on various preventive procedures (one of them being adult vaccinations). However, for some reasons pertaining to the new healthcare law, they couldn't start this program. I think it had something to with the fact that there was a cap or something. I'm not actually sure. Anyway, I'm going out of the country in a little over a month, and I was going to get some recommended vaccinations, but I found out today from my doctor that two would cost $300 and I still need anti-malaria pills on top of that (and insurance won't cover those either). Maybe it is just me, but that seems a little steep seeing as how I still have to pay my copay to see my doc. I could go to the health center, but let's just say that I might get what I'm trying to prevent just by going there. It terrifies me more! Anyway, in a world with a broken economy and healthcare costs rising, doesn't it seem strange that instead of helping me pay to prevent Hep A or B or malaria, they would rather risk me get it and then have to pay to treat me later (which will cost much more!) I know it is all a risk game, but today it frustrates me.
Comments